Get to know your doshas | Samyak Yoga

More than 5,000 years ago, Indian sages began to develop a system of health and well-being called Ayurveda. A sister science of yoga, the principle of Ayurveda is that good health can be achieved through a delicate balance of mind, body and spirit.

According to the science of Ayurveda, matter consists of 5 elements which are: air, space, fire, water and earth.

This blog aims to provide an overview that educates the reader on the essence of doshas and the defining characteristics of each type of dosha.

The topic of doshas is broad and extensive, this blog is just a general synopsis to familiarize you with the basics of doshas before delving into the complex nuances and aspects of this constantly evolving topic.

What are doshas?

Doshas are biological energies found throughout the human body and mind. They play a vital role in defining our dominant characteristics, including the way we eat, behave, and sleep. The 3 ayurvedic doshas: Vata, Pitta and Kapha overlook specific functions that affect our body.

Each of us is born with a certain amount of dosha, but that changes over time. The change of season, the emotional state, the diet, the stress levels have a direct impact on the doshas.

Now that you know what doshas are, we understand each type of dosha and its essentials.

Read: Know your chakras

Vata Dosha:

Vata Dosha is represented by the dynamic elements of air and space. People with Vata dosha are very creative and fast. Physically they are always on the move and mentally they are very active, creative and can be in a bad mood.

Very often, their attention span is very short and they get bored and easily distracted. It is difficult for them to stop the flow of thoughts and they can often get out of the tangent or forget their thoughts.

The biggest challenge for them is to settle their minds and be grounded in the present without thinking too much about the future. Some Vata-related illnesses are related to anxiety, dry skin, swelling, and constipation.

Pitta Dosha:

Pitta: is represented by fire. Pitta individuals are ambitious and hardworking. They have a keen focus on each task and complete one task before moving on to the next.

Pitta personalities are organized leaders, work on schedule and thrive in areas of management. They can lead, follow and complete tasks effortlessly They are focused and complete one task before starting another. They are strong leaders who do well in management.

They have a very organized mind and work with a schedule. Physically, Pittas are the kind of people who need a good workout. They have a lot of fire energy that needs to be released. They are naturally competitive and excellent in athletics.

All this fire of their bodies can be transformed into the fire of their minds. They may get angry when things go wrong and impatient when others take too long to complete a task. They stay at a very high level and demand that others do the same.

Picks can be seen as intimidating for this reason and also suffer from premature exhaustion. Dominant nozzle diseases include heartburn, loose stools, and a strong appetite.

Kapha Dosha:

Kapha: the personalities are pacifying, patient and calm; represented by the elements of the earth and water. They are natural caregivers and often put the needs of others ahead of their own.

Their goodness is their strength, and they do their best to please their loved ones. They are great listeners and counselors. Patience is his greatest virtue.

They have the strongest resistance of the 3 types of dosha. When unbalanced, they tend to be sedentary, gain weight, and ignore self-care. Kapha-minded people are usually calm and do not get worse easily.

They are indulgent in nature and believe in maintaining harmony with their environment. Although they have a slow understanding, once they understand, knowledge is preserved and maintained with them for a long time.

Finally, it is important to note that if the proportion of doshas in your current state is close to your birth constitution, then your health will be vibrant.

A divergence between these states, however, indicates a state of imbalance. “Vikruti” is the term used to describe the unbalanced deviation from “Prakruti” or innate constitution.

To better understand your dosha type, it is recommended that you consult a certified Ayurvedic doctor and implement lifestyle changes that balance your doshas.

Read: Mental Health Yoga

#doshas #Samyak #Yoga

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission.

Source link

You May Also Like